Favorite Bands 5

Favorite Bands 5

  

 DEEP PURPLE

TN_perfectstrangers DP84

 

This is another great band. I remember the first song by Deep Purple I heard on the radio, “Smoke on the Water”. I was about 10 years old when I heard this simple, but heavy set of chords that still sound good to this day. This song is also the first guitar riff that many beginners start on, including myself.

Everyone recognizes the riff: ‘Thun, da-da, thun, da-da -da, thunda-da-da, na, na’. And the rest is what is known as History. Deep Purple is also known as one of the Founding Fathers of Heavy Metal.

The other two were Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin. Deep Purple has gone through many line-up changes over the years, their main singer is Ian Gillan, and he was my favorite. He defined the band’s sound that was the most successful.

Deep Purple is still together and touring, but sadly last year the keyboardist, John Lord passed away. We lost a great musician that day, but as some-one once said to me “Rock On”. So that’s what we do. I still listen to Deep Purple, they are on my top ten list.

Leave a Reply

